Washington, D.C. 20549



Form 8-K




Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

May 1, 2013 (April 25, 2013)

Date of Report

(Date of Earliest Event Reported)



Synovus Financial Corp.

(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in its Charter)




Georgia   1-10312   58-1134883
(State of Incorporation)  


File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)

1111 Bay Avenue, Suite 500, Columbus, Georgia 31901

(Address of principal executive offices) (Zip Code)

(706) 649-2311

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)

(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


  ¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


  ¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

The Synovus Financial Corp. (“Synovus”) 2013 Annual Meeting of Shareholders was held on April 25, 2013. Following is a summary of the proposals that were submitted to the shareholders for approval and a tabulation of the votes with respect to each proposal.

Proposal 1

The proposal was to elect as directors the 14 nominees named in the proxy statement for Synovus’ 2013 Annual Meeting of Shareholders.


Nominee    Votes For      Votes Against      Abstentions  

Catherine A. Allen

     1,386,632,246         9,523,807         1,760,816   

Stephen T. Butler

     1,388,282,662         7,949,473         1,684,734   

Elizabeth W. Camp

     1,370,145,816         26,152,728         1,618,325   

T. Michael Goodrich

     1,370,292,834         25,837,208         1,786,827   

V. Nathaniel Hansford

     1,366,216,505         29,371,656         2,328,708   

Mason H. Lampton

     1,369,522,526         26,650,811         1,743,532   

Jerry W. Nix

     1,388,005,331         7,978,958         1,932,580   

Joseph J. Prochaska, Jr.

     1,388,297,171         7,679,919         1,939,779   

J. Neal Purcell

     1,370,942,136         25,149,576         1,825,157   

H Kessel D. Stelling, Jr.

     1,381,499,286         14,772,431         1,645,152   

Melvin T. Stith

     1,367,000,410         29,005,467         1,910,992   

Barry L. Storey

     1,388,292,982         7,693,139         1,930,748   

Philip W. Tomlinson

     1,388,490,303         7,793,040         1,633,526   

James D. Yancey

     1,370,029,789         26,338,594         1,548,486   

There were 186,894,859 broker non-votes for each director on this proposal.

Proposal 2

The proposal was to approve the compensation of Synovus’ named executive officers as determined by the Compensation Committee.


Votes For    Votes Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes
1,384,407,849    9,636,946    3,872,074    186,894,859

Proposal 3

The proposal was to approve the Synovus Financial Corp. 2013 Omnibus Plan.


Votes For    Votes Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes
1,379,969,414    15,361,299    2,586,156    186,894,859



Proposal 4

The proposal was to ratify the appointment of KPMG LLP as Synovus’ independent auditor for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013.


Votes For    Votes Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes
1,572,691,932    8,888,467    3,231,329    0




Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, Synovus has caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Dated: May 1, 2013     By:  

/s/ Samuel F. Hatcher

      Samuel F. Hatcher

Executive Vice President,

General Counsel and Secretary