Washington, D.C. 20549



Form 8-K




Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

April 27, 2016 (April 21, 2016)

Date of Report

(Date of Earliest Event Reported)



Synovus Financial Corp.

(Exact Name of Registrant as Specified in its Charter)





\(State of Incorporation)



(Commission File Number)



(IRS Employer Identification No.)

1111 Bay Avenue, Suite 500, Columbus, Georgia 31901

(Address of principal executive offices) (Zip Code)

(706) 649-2311

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


  ¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


  ¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07     Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

The Synovus 2016 Annual Meeting of Shareholders was held on April 21, 2016. Following is a summary of the proposals that were submitted to the shareholders for approval and a tabulation of the votes with respect to each proposal.

Proposal 1

The proposal was to elect as directors the 12 nominees named in the proxy statement for Synovus’ 2016 Annual Meeting of Shareholders.


Nominee          Votes For    Vote Against    Abstentions
Catherine A. Allen         196,437,110    479,167    118,738
Tim E. Bentsen         196,018,280    895,894    120,841
Stephen T. Butler         194,711,207    2,183,401    140,407
Elizabeth W. Camp         195,731,456    1,192,603    110,956
T. Michael Goodrich         193,286,209    3,602,630    146,176
Jerry W. Nix         195,994,247    917,061    123,707
Harris Pastides         194,712,782    2,158,645    163,588
Joseph J. Prochaska, Jr.         196,040,925    866,176    127,914
Kessel D. Stelling, Jr.         192,279,584    3,383,932    1,371,499
Melvin T. Stith         195,615,557    1,294,093    125,365
Barry L. Storey         195,273,724    1,607,271    154,020
Philip W. Tomlinson         196,415,275    516,892    102,848

There were 20,835,360 broker non-votes for each director on this proposal.

Proposal 2

The proposal was an advisory vote on the compensation of Synovus’ named executive officers as determined by the Compensation Committee.


     Votes For         Votes Against         Abstentions         Broker Non-Votes   
     189,203,703         6,288,263         1,543,049         20,835,360   

Proposal 3

The proposal was to ratify the appointment of KPMG LLP as Synovus’ independent auditor for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2016.


     Votes For    Votes Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes
   216,880,133    792,971    197,271    0


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, Synovus has caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.





Dated: April 27, 2016     By:   /s/ Allan E. Kamensky
      Allan E. Kamensky

Executive Vice President,

General Counsel and Secretary